‘The Weight of Living’ wins First Place in Royal Dragonfly Book Awards

“The Weight of Living” has won FIRST PLACE in the Mystery Category of the 2017 Royal Dragonfly Book Award contest.


I am amazed. Thank you to the judges at Royal Dragonfly.

Congratulations to all the winners. I am honored to be among your number


From the organization’s website: “The Royal Dragonfly Book Award contest honors excellence in all types of literature and book marketing, recognizing creativity and hard work for a comprehensive list of genres in 68 categories. Our judges are industry experts with specific knowledge about the categories over which they preside.”


“Winning any place in the Royal Dragonfly Contest is a huge honor because in order to maintain the integrity of the Dragonfly Book Awards, a minimum score is required before a First or Second Place or Honorable Mention will be awarded to the entrant – even if it is the sole entry in a category,” explains Linda F. Radke, president of the Dragonfly Book Awards program. “Competition is steep, too, because there is no publication date limit as long as the book is still in print.”

To learn more about the Dragonfly Book Awards, visit www.DragonflyBookAwards.com

Kirkus Reviews said, “An involving thriller with a memorable protagonist.”

Author Reyna Favis said, “It is this juxtaposition of the dark and light that the exquisite tension of the story builds, the decency and strength of the Nagler character is revealed and the sordid mystery of the little girl left filthy and neglected in a dumpster unfolds. This book is recommended reading if you’re looking for an inventive plot and boldly drawn characters.”

“The Weight of Living” is the third Frank Nagler Mystery. They are set in Ironton N.J., and tell of the police work of Detective Frank Nagler, who takes on a range of criminals while he battles his own frailties.

This is second award for “The Weight of Living” this month.

The cover of the 2017 book, created by Anita Dugan-Moore of my publisher. Imzadi Publishing of Tulsa,  was awarded a Gold Medal in the 2017 cover contest sponsored by http://www.authorsdb.com, a website for authors and readers.

OTHER NEWS: My short story, “Who Shot the Smart Guy at the Blackboard,” a smart and sassy whodunit, was released by Imzadi on Nov.24. It is FREE on Kindle Unlimited., and 99 cents otherwise.




A GAME CALLED DEAD was a runner-up in the Shelf Unbound 2016 Best Indie Book contest.


The Frank Nagler books are available at the following New Jersey libraries:

Brick  (Ocean County Library System) Mountainside; Morris County Library; Somerset County Library System; Bernardsville Public Library; Hunterdon County Public Library; Mount Olive Public Library;  Phillipsburg; Warren County, Franklin branch; Mount Arlington; Wharton; Dover; Hackettstown;  Clark, Parsippany and the Ramsey library, as part of the Bergen County Cooperative Library System; The Palmer (Pa.) Branch of the Easton Public Library; Deptford Free Public Library and Franklin Township Library (Gloucester Co.), New Providence Memorial Library.


The Frank Nagler mysteries are available online at:

Amazon: http://goo.gl/hVQIII

Kobo: https://goo.gl/bgLH6v

NOOK: http://goo.gl/WnQjtr






About michaelstephendaigle

I have been writing most of my life. I am the author of the award-winning Frank Nagler Mystery series. "The Swamps of Jersey (2014); "A Game Called Dead" (2016) -- a Runner-Up in the 2016 Shelf Unbound Indie Author Contest; and "The Weight of Living" (2017) -- First Place winner for Mysteries in the Royal Dragonfly Book Awards Contest.
This entry was posted in BooksNJ2017, Fiction, Greater Lehigh Valley Writer's Group, Imzadi Publishing LLC, Michael Stephen Daigle, Mystery Writers of America, Sally Ember, www.michaelstephendaigle.com and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply